Easy Eggplant Parmesan

Easy Eggplant Parmesan

We recently started getting beautiful eggplants from our CSA  (community supported agriculture).  I have to admit I’m not the biggest eggplant fan, so I started looking for eggplant Parmesan recipes. I found some that you didn’t have to fry the eggplant first – just broil them for a few minutes per side.

This turned out really well. Even one of our picky teenagers went back for seconds. Makes 6 servings

Ingredients:

2 organic eggplants, around 1 pound each

¼ cup organic olive oil (or coconut oil)

½ tsp. Celtic or sea salt

2 – 3 tablespoons fresh basil, sliced thinly

2 – 3 cups organic marinara or pasta Sauce

16 ounces organic shredded mozzarella cheese

½ cup grated Parmesan cheese

Directions:

Trim the ends off the eggplants and slice lengthwise into 1/2″ slices. You should

get around 6 – 8 slices from each eggplant. Brush both sides of the eggplant slices with olive oil or coconut oil to coat. Place them in a single layer on a baking sheet.

Broil about 5 minutes per side until tender and a little browned. Watch them closely because they can burn quickly. Lightly sprinkle them with celtic salt after removing from the oven.

Layer everything in a greased 9×13 baking dish in this order: 6 – 8 eggplant slices,

½ of the sauce, , ½ of the basil, ½ of the mozzarella. Repeat the layering again then sprinkle with the Parmesan cheese.

Bake at 350º about 30 minute or until the cheese is bubbly and lightly brown.  Enjoy!

 

Read more, great Monday Mania posts here:  http://www.thehealthyhomeeconomist.com/2011/08/monday-mania-8222011/

Read more, great Real Food Wednesday posts here: http://kellythekitchenkop.com/2011/08/real-food-wednesday-8242011.html

Read more, great Workshop Wednesday posts here: http://goodbyecityhellosuburbs.blogspot.com/2011/08/workshop-wednesday-21.html

Read more, great Simple Lives Thursday posts here: http://gnowfglins.com/2011/08/25/simple-lives-thursday-58/

Read more, great Pennywise Platter Thursday posts here: http://www.thenourishinggourmet.com/2011/08/pennywise-platter-thursday-825.html

Read more, great Fight Back Friday posts here: http://www.foodrenegade.com/fight-back-friday-august-26th/

2 Responses to “Easy Eggplant Parmesan”

Leave a Reply