Gluten Free & Sugar Free Macaroons

This recipe is my version of one I found in Eating Stella Style by George Stella. Every recipe I’ve tried from this book has been excellent. These cookies were great. They are a bit crunchy the first day, and once you put them in the refrigerator – if you have leftovers – they get softer and keep for days. Very filling and wonderful with a little pastured butter on top.

Ingredients:
1/4 cup organic Almond Flour (made from grinding organic almonds – I soak and dehydrate mine first)
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/8 teaspoon Celtic salt
3 organic and pastured egg whites (see note about what I do with my yolks)
1 1/2 teaspoons organic vanilla extract
1/4 teaspoon pure orange extract (optional)
27 drops of liquid Stevia  (or 1/3 cup organic sugar/sucanat)

1 1/2 teaspoons organic/pastured butter, softened, at room temperature
1 1/3 tightly packed cups organic shredded unsweetened coconut (use fresh or unsweetened shredded)

Special Equipment

optional: 1-ounce ice cream scoop
parchment paper or silicone mat-lined cookie sheet

Directions:

Place the baking rack in the center of the oven to 350 degrees F.

In a small bowl, whisk together the almond flour, baking soda and salt, and set aside.

In a medium bowl, whisk together the egg whites and extracts until foamy, then stir in the stevia and butter until well blended.

Add the mixed dry ingredients to the egg mixture and fold in the coconut until everything is combined. Wet your fingers and form 16 equal balls of the mix, about 4 teaspoons each, or use a 1-ounce ice cream scoop tightly packed with the mix. Place the macaroons on the lined sheet pan and bake for approximately 15 minutes, until they start to turn golden brown all over.

Remove the macaroons from the oven and let cool completely, about 15 minutes, before serving. Refrigerate any leftovers in a covered container. (Macaroons will soften greatly after being covered and refrigerated.)  One net carb per cookie.  Enjoy!  Note: I use this recipe for the yolks – 3 yolks and 1 egg and lately have been using 27 drops of Stevia instead of the sugar – same oven temp so I make the custard right after the cookies http://momsforsafefood.net/2010/03/15/easy-egg-custard/

We’re on FB now!  Look for Moms for Safe Food.

Read more, great Monday Mania posts here: http://www.thehealthyhomeeconomist.com/2011/08/monday-mania-8292011/

Read more, great Fat Tuesday posts here: http://realfoodforager.com/2011/08/fat-tuesday-august-30-2011/

Read more, great Real Food Wednesday posts here: http://kellythekitchenkop.com/2011/08/real-food-wednesday-8312011.html

Read more great, Simple Lives Thursday posts here: http://gnowfglins.com/2011/08/31/simple-lives-thursday-59/

Read more great Pennywise Platter Thursday posts here:http://www.thenourishinggourmet.com/2011/08/pennywise-platter-thursday-91.html

Read more great, Fight Back Friday posts here: http://www.foodrenegade.com/fight-back-friday-september-2nd/

Read more great, grain free recipes here: http://realfoodforager.com/2011/10/grain-free-real-food-linky-carnival/

5 Responses to “Gluten Free & Sugar Free Macaroons”