Quick Spinach and Feta Pie

 

Quick Spinach and Feta Pie

I haven’t made anything with Filo dough for a long time but saw a version of this recipe on Jamie Oliver’s site and wanted to try it. It’s part of his 30 Minute Meal recipes (the cookbook will be released in the U.S. in October). Filo dough or pastry is found in the frozen section, near the pie crusts. This is my version.

It was fairly easy and quick and really good!

 

Ingredients:

 

5 free range or organic eggs

101/2 oz. organic feta cheese

¼ cup organic Cheddar cheese, preferably raw milk cheddar

Dried oregano and sea or Celtic salt, and pepper

1 organic lemon

1 – 2 tlbs of organic, pastured butter

14oz bag organic baby spinach

1 pound package of filo pastry (I found organic Filo at our HF store)

1 whole nutmeg or 1-2 tsp of grated nutmeg

 

Directions:

 

To Start: Get all your ingredients and equipment ready. Turn the oven on to 400°. Put a medium (10 ½  in diameter) ovenproof frying pan on a medium heat.

SPINACH & FETA PIE:

Crack 5 eggs into a mixing bowl and crumble in 10 ½ ounces of feta. Grate in the Cheddar Cheese.

Add a pinch of pepper, a couple of pinches of dried oregano, zest of 1 lemon and a glug of olive oil.

 

Put the empty frying pan back on the heat, add a little olive oil and a knob of butter and pile in half of the spinach. Gently push and move it around and add more as it wilts down. Make sure it doesn’t catch on the bottom and, when there’s room, start adding the rest, stirring frequently.

Meanwhile, take the pastry out of the fridge. Lay a large sheet of parchment paper, approx 20 inches long, on the worktop, rub a little olive oil all over it, then scrunch it up and lay it out flat again. Arrange 4 filo pastry sheets in a large rectangle, overlapping at the edges, so they almost cover the paper. Rub some olive oil over them. Sprinkle over a good pinch of pepper and a pinch of salt. Repeat until you have 3 layers. Don’t worry about any cracked bits. Remember to keep stirring the spinach. (to see how to put it together, watch the video at http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JIkbIVP4Srw).

Once the spinach is really nice and dense, take the pan off the heat. Add the wilted spinach to the egg mixture and grate in 1/2 a nutmeg. Mix well. Carefully move the greaseproof paper and filo into the empty frying pan so the edges spill over. Push it down into the sides of the pan, then pour in the egg mixture and spread it out. Fold the filo sheets over the top and let them fall where they will.

Put the pan back on a medium heat for a couple of minutes to get the bottom cooking, then put the pan into the oven on the top shelf to cook for 18 to 20 minutes, or until golden and crisp.  Enjoy!

Read more, great Hearth and Soul Hop posts here: http://amoderatelife.com/2011/03/hearth-and-soul-hop-volume-41/

Read more, great Monday Mania posts here: http://www.thehealthyhomeeconomist.com/2011/03/monday-mania-3282011/

Read more, great Real Food Wednesday posts here: http://kellythekitchenkop.com/2011/03/real-food-wednesday-33011.html

Read more, great Simple Lives Thursday posts here: http://gnowfglins.com/2011/03/30/simple-lives-thursday-37/

Read more, great Pennywise Platter Thursday posts here: http://www.thenourishinggourmet.com/2011/03/pennywise-platter-thursday-331.html

Read more, great Fight Back Friday posts here: http://www.foodrenegade.com/fight-back-friday-april-1st/

6 Responses to “Quick Spinach and Feta Pie”